Obtaining a New License or Authority
Maintaining and Renewing a License or Authority
Reinstating or Reissuing an Expired or Disciplined License or Authority
Continuing Education (CE)
License or Authority Status

 

Obtaining a New License or Authority

Q: How do I apply for an initial resident producer license?
A: https://iid.iowa.gov/obtaining-a-new-license-or-authority

Q: What do I need to do if I have a felony conviction?
A: https://iid.iowa.gov/prohibited-persons-requesting-consent-to-work-in-the-business-of-insurance

Q: How long does it take for a pending application to be reviewed?
A: Allow up to 10 business days.

Q: What is the initial cost of a producer license?
A: The license fee is $50.00.

Q: Does Iowa require pre‐licensing to become a producer?
A: Iowa does not have any pre-licensing requirements.

Q: Where do I take my licensing exams?
A: https://home.pearsonvue.com/ia/insurance 

Q: Where can I find study materials for the licensing exams?
A: The Iowa Insurance Division does not endorse any study materials or vendors. How an applicant prepares for the exams is their choice.

Q: How long is my licensing exam valid?
A: Exam results are valid for 90 days.

Q: What is the cost of a licensing exam?
A: https://home.pearsonvue.com/ia/insurance

Q: How do I print my license?
A: http://www.statebasedsystems.com/LicensePrint.htm

Q: How do I apply for an Iowa non-resident producer license?
A: https://iid.iowa.gov/obtaining-a-new-license-or-authority 

Q: What do I need to do if I am moving from another state to Iowa?
A: Contact the Iowa Insurance Division directly - https://iid.iowa.gov/contact

Q: What do I need to do if I am moving from Iowa to another state?
A: Obtain a resident license in the new resident state then contact the Iowa Insurance Division for non-resident licensing procedure

Q: How do I check my license status?
A: https://sbs-ia.naic.org/Lion-Web/jsp/sbsreports/AgentLookup.jsp

Q: How can I add a line of authority to my license?
A: https://iid.iowa.gov/obtaining-a-new-license-or-authority

Q: How much does it cost to add a line of authority?
A: There is no license fee to add a line of authority.

Q: Can I get a refund if I applied for a license in error?
A: A refund request will be reviewed.   Complete and submit the refund request form.

 

Maintaining and Renewing a License or Authority

Q: How do I renew my producer license?
A: https://iid.iowa.gov/maintaining-and-renewing-a-license-or-authority

Q: What is the cost to renew my producer license?
A: $50.00 renewal fee.

Q: Is there a grace period to renew my license?
A: No.

Q: How long does it take my renewal application to process after submitting?
A: Allow up to 10 business days. You may check the status of your application at http://nipr.com/.

Q: How do I print my renewed license?
A: http://www.statebasedsystems.com/LicensePrint.htm

Q: How do I reinstate my producer license?
A: https://iid.iowa.gov/reinstating-or-reissuing-an-expired-or-disciplined-license-or-authority 

Q: What is the cost to reinstate my producer license?
A: $50.00 renewal fee plus a $100.00 reinstatement fee.

Q: What do I do if my license has expired?
A: If continuing education compliance was met before expiration, the license may be reinstated via www.nipr.com.If continuing education compliance was NOT met before expiration, contact the Iowa Insurance Division https://iid.iowa.gov/contact.

Q: How do I check my license status?
A: https://sbs-ia.naic.org/Lion-Web/jsp/sbsreports/AgentLookup.jsp

Q: How do I change my address or update my contact information on my license?
A: www.nipr.com or https://iid.iowa.gov/documents/individual-producer-address-change-request-form

Q: How do I change my name on my license?
A: https://iid.iowa.gov/documents/individual-producer-name-change-request-form

Q: How many days do I have to notify the Division of my address or name change?
A: 30 days.

Q: How do I voluntarily surrender my producer license?
A: https://iid.iowa.gov/documents/individual-producer-voluntary-surrender-request-form

Q: How long is a producer’s license term?
A: A producer license shall remain in effect for an initial term of three years after the last day of the applicant's birth month of the year the license was issued. The license term is three years.

Q: How do I check my license expiration date?
A: https://sbs-ia.naic.org/Lion-Web/jsp/sbsreports/AgentLookup.jsp

Q: What do I need to do if I am moving from another state to Iowa?
A: Contact the Iowa Insurance Division directly - https://iid.iowa.gov/contact

Q: What do I need to do if I am moving from Iowa to another state?
A: Obtain a resident license in the new resident state then contact the Iowa Insurance Division for non-resident licensing procedure.

Q: How do I add/remove an appointment with an insurer?
A: Contact the insurer.

Q: How do I report an administrative action?
A: http://www.nipr.com/attachment_warehouse_announcements.htm or contact the Iowa Insurance Division.

Q: How do I report a criminal action?
A: http://www.nipr.com/attachment_warehouse_announcements.htm or contact the Iowa Insurance Division

 

Reinstating or Reissuing an Expired or Disciplined License or Authority

Q: Is there a grace period to renew my license?
A: No.

Q: What do I do if my license has expired?
A: If CE compliance was met before expiration, the license may be reinstated via www.nipr.com.If CE compliance was NOT met before expiration, you must retake and pass the appropriate exams for lines you wish to reinstate. Once passed, you must submit to the Division, a copy of the PearsonVue Examination Score Report(s). The scores will NOT relay to NIPR.

Q: How do I renew my license?
A: https://iid.iowa.gov/maintaining-and-renewing-a-license-or-authority

Q: How do I reinstate my license?
A: https://iid.iowa.gov/reinstating-or-reissuing-an-expired-or-disciplined-license-or-authority 

Q: What is the cost to reinstate my license?
A: $50.00 renewal fee plus a $100.00 reinstatement fee.

Q: How long does it take my reinstatement application to process after submitting?
A: 1-2 business days unless the application has pended for additional information.

Q: How soon can I print my reinstated license?
A: 1-2 business days.

Q: How do I reinstate or reissue my license if I’ve had disciplinary action taken?
A: https://iid.iowa.gov/reinstating-or-reissuing-an-expired-or-disciplined-license-or-authority

 

Continuing Education (CE)

Q: How do I check my CE credits?
A: http://www.statebasedsystems.com/EdTranscript.htm

Q: What are the CE requirements?
A: https://iid.iowa.gov/summary-resident-iowa-continuing-education

Q: Is CE required for a non‐resident?
A: No.

Q: How can I search for approved CE courses?
A: https://www.sircon.com/ComplianceExpress/NonSscrbEducation/index.jsp?nonSscrb=Y&sscrbid=9999

Q: Who do I contact for approved courses or to see if a course is approved if I am not able to find the course with the above search?
A: Pearson Vue at ce@pearson.com or at 877-540-5825

Q: How many ethics hours must I have per license term?
A: 3 credits

Q: What Producer training is required for Long-Term Care, Annuity products and Index products?
A: https://iid.iowa.gov/insurance-producer-required-trainings

 

License or Authority Status

Q: How do I check my license status?
A: https://sbs-ia.naic.org/Lion-Web/jsp/sbsreports/AgentLookup.jsp

Q: How do I print my license?
A: http://www.statebasedsystems.com/LicensePrint.htm

Q: How long is a producer’s license good for?
A: A producer license shall remain in effect for an initial term of three years after the last day of the applicant's birth month of the year the license was issued.

Q: How do I check my license expiration date?
A: https://sbs-ia.naic.org/Lion-Web/jsp/sbsreports/AgentLookup.jsp

Q: How can I voluntarily surrender my producer license?
A: https://iid.iowa.gov/documents/individual-producer-voluntary-surrender-request-form

Q: How do I change my address or update my contact information on my license?
A: www.nipr.com or https://iid.iowa.gov/documents/individual-producer-address-change-request-form

Q: How do I change my name on my license?
A: https://iid.iowa.gov/documents/individual-producer-name-change-request-form

Q: How do I voluntarily surrender my license?
A: https://iid.iowa.gov/documents/individual-producer-voluntary-surrender-request-form