A reciprocal jurisdiction reinsurer is licensed by another jurisdiction and maintains its principal office or is domiciled in that other jurisdiction.

How to become a reciprocal jurisdiction reinsurer

For reinsurers with an application that has been approved by a U.S. lead state and reviewed by the NAIC Reinsurance Financial Analysis (E) Working Group (ReFAWG) that is seeking reciprocal jurisdiction reinsurer status in Iowa.  Annual renewals are due on or before November 1st of each year.

Fill out these two forms and email them to reinsurer.filings@iid.iowa.gov.

The examination fee for a new reciprocal jurisdiction reinsurer is $2,000 payable by check to the Iowa Insurance Division.  Please remit payment by mail with the heading "Reciprocal Jurisdiction Reinsurer."  There is no filing fee for the renewal of a reciprocal jurisdiction reinsurer.

The reinsurer will be notified in writing after reviewing the application if approved/denied.

If the applicant intends to apply for full certification in Iowa please email the Division at reinsurer.filings@iid.iowa.gov before submitting the application.  Please include the subject line "Reciprocal Jurisdiction Reinsurer request for full certification."

Filing requirements

File an annual renewal each year by November 1 via email to reinsurer.filings@iid.iowa.gov

Relevant chapter and administrative rule

Lists of jurisdictions

Pending applications for public comment

Pending applications are posted for 30 days before IID takes final action on the application.  Send comments or questions to reinsurer.filings@iid.iowa.gov. In the subject line, write "Reciprocal Reinsurer Application."


Lists of Reciprocal Jurisdiction Reinsurers